Language & Math…

I know it have been a lot since I last posted, and I am very sorry for this. I will start paying more attention to this blog. I just had a very hard period and it was extremely hard for me to concentrate writing about anything. Starting this month I have a good schedule and will try to post almost every week. I hope I will have enough time and won’t disappoint you. If you have any ideas on how to make this blog more interesting let me know. So lets start with my post:

” To most people, it comes as a shock to discover that mathematics can be used to study the language – the real, human languages they use in their everyday lives: English, Spanish, Japanese, and so on. Surely, ordinary language is not in the least mathematical, is it?” (Keith Devlin, “The Language of Mathematics – Making the Invisible Visible”)

purpose of schools-jpeg

When I read that I was truly shocked. What?? Language and Mathematics? COome on…!! I remember my high-school classes of languages when I was like: “Not YOU again?”; and the only thing that I remember about them was literature and grammar.  The first one it was a nightmare for me, I was scared when the teacher used that word. Don’t understand me wrongly, I LOVE reading, I cannot live without books, but how I studied literature was a torture for me. The second thing (grammar) was easier, I always understood the rules (the WERE rules) and I always thought that some mathematician invented them but they don’t want to admit it. I was wrong!! They do admit it and I am quite fascinated how mathematical logic found a way in this maze.

And now, the proof (well it’s not a proof, in fact I am not using the right word here, but…): “the process of finding axioms that describe the syntactic structure of language was begun by the American linguist Noam Chomsky, though the idea for such an approach had been proposed over a century earlier by Wilhelm von Humboldt. ‘To write a grammar for a language’, Chomsky suggested, ‘is to formulate a set of generalizations, i.e., a theory, to account for one’s observations of the language.’ ”

9.-HP-Kitty

So, what mathematics did for grammar is an important thing and a really breakout. But, “mathematics never captures all there is to know about anything. Understanding gained through mathematics is just a part of a much larger whole.” There is still more to learn about this subject.

After all this, I look forward to find out more subjects and principles that mathematics help to develop.

Check my Facebook page, my Tumblr, my just started Google+ page and also my new Twitter (I am really new to the last 2 things, so bare with me if you can see stupid mistakes there) and  Instagram.

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

